ECTS (for European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) is the credit system for higher education used in the European Higher Education Area, involving all countries engaged in the Bologna Process.

For more about the Bologna Process & the EHEA, see )

ECTS is a learner-centred system for credit accumulation and transfer based on the transparency of learning outcomes and learning processes. It aims to facilitate planning, delivery, evaluation, recognition and validation of qualifications and units of learning as well as student mobility.

ECTS credits are based on the workload students need in order to achieve expected learning outcomes.

Learning Outcomes describe what a learner is expected to know, understand and be able to do after successful completion of a process of learning.

Workload indicates the time students typically need to complete all learning activities (such as lectures, seminars, projects, practical work, self-study and examinations) required to achieve the expected learning outcomes.

60 ECTS credits are attached to the workload of a full-time year of formal learning (academic year) and the associated learning outcomes. In most cases (and especially in Greece), student workload ranges from 1,500 to 1,800 hours for an academic year, whereby one credit corresponds to 25 to 30 hours of work.

Credits are allocated to entire qualifications or study programmes as well as to their educational components (such as modules, course units, dissertations work, work placements and laboratory work).

Credits are awarded to individual students (full-time or part-time) after completion of the learning activities required by a formal programme of study or by a single educational component and the successful assessment of the achieved learning outcomes.

Credits may be accumulated with a view to obtaining qualifications, as decided by the degree-awarding institution.

Credits awarded in one programme may be transferred into another programme, offered by the same or another institution. This transfer can only take place if the degree-awarding institution recognises the credits and the associated learning outcomes. Partner institutions should agree in advance on the recognition of periods of study abroad.

Credit transfer and accumulation are facilitated by the use of the ECTS key documents (Course Catalogue, Student Application Form, Learning Agreement and Transcript of Records) as well as the Diploma Supplement.

Excerpts from: ECTS Users’ Guide, Brussels, 6 February 2009, p.11, ,

available on:

The purpose of the Diploma Supplement is to provide sufficient independent data to improve the international “transparency” and fair academic and professional recognition of qualifications (diplomas, degrees, certificates etc…). It is designed to provide a description of the nature, level, context, content and status of the studies that were pursued and successfully completed by the individual named on the original qualification to which this supplement is appended. It should be free from any value judgements, equivalence statements or suggestions about recognition. Information in all eight sections should be provided. Where information is not provided, an explanation should give the reason why.

Cited from: ECTS Users’ Guide, Brussels, 6 February 2009, Annex 4 – Key Documents, The Diploma Supplement,

The Course Catalogue of the study programmes offered at Harokopio University are displayed at the Departments’ webpage.

Department of Home Economics and Ecology:

Department of Nutrition – Dietetics

Department of Geography

Department of Informatics & Telematics


For more on:


Higher Education in Europe

The Bologna Process – European Higher Education Area

The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS)

The Diploma Supplement (DS)

  Last update on 2013-11-19

Thursday the 30th. Design by QualityJoomlaTemplates.